33 6 49 42 41 40

LeWeb2011: 6 Key Trends for the Internet 2012

Posted December 13, 2011 by Franck Perrier

    It took us a week to synthesize our presence there to LeWeb 2011 , Europe's largest show in the internet, and read 1% of what was written. We learned 6 major trends that prefigure the Internet 2012.

    • 1 - The convergence of Social, Local and Mobile: The SOLOMO
    • 2 - Opening and "nurturing talent" at the heart of corporate culture on the web
    • 3 - Google: the search for excellence in the social web
    • 4 - mobile to attack the web
    • 5 - The maturity of Facebook despite skepticism from some observers opportunistic
    • 6 - Social, Mobile, Local: finally the golden opportunity for the media

    Check them further with some links. Happy reading and let us know your comments and suggestions.

    1 - The convergence of Social, Local and Mobile: The SOLOMO

    This trend was already SOLOMO widely discussed, including prior to the event.

    The originality of SOLOMO is the convergence of these three trends, acronym Social, Local and Mobile, the future of the web., We can already ask ourselves if SOLOMO is a trend or destined to become a milestone on the Web.

    The perfect example, Foursquare: a social network based on geolocation and a system of deals. The e-commerce sites like Groupon are also included in this trend and the two major competitors giants Facebook and Google are not to be outdone with Facebook "Places" and its application bygone "Deals" and Google with coupons available on Google+ and improving the Google Maps service. The next step is probably the point of view of advertisers know gauge and offer mobile enthusiasts a good balance between sharing interests, deals and coupons. Nielsen offers an explanation of this new concept in three patterns, discover below. Tracking and behavioral targeting of consumers resulting from this trend and cause many ethical debates.

    For more information, you can refer to the notes below.

    2 - Opening and "nurturing talent" at the heart of corporate culture on the web

    The corporate culture is a key to business success, whether the old or the new economy. What do you noticed interventions web players such as Google, Facebook and other startups and who competed? They share two values: openness and support talent in English "nurturing talent." How it does it manifest?

    The opening is for example making available APIs or partnerships between giants like Facebook and Spotify are changing models. Ignite during the second day, many stakeholders have succeeded. I remember intervention Sara Rosse the Automattic company that publishes WordPress: "The future way of working: The company distributed." Sharing interesting and formative experience than Sarah employee in a company without this office in 74 cities and 21 countries. Emphasis is placed on international internal communication and trust in each to accomplish its missions.

    "Nurturing Talent" serves the purpose to seek and retain the best skills to the growth of its business. Competition is fierce in the recruitment of employees in Silicon Valley but also in Paris: Have you ever tried to hire developers? For us, Idaos is a small structure but internally we respect the following rule: "employees before customers." The goal is not to abandon course our customers, on the contrary, we assume the following principle: they will naturally be well treated if our employees are well supported, accompanied, engaged, committed. Of course, it is only our point of view.

    3 - Google: the search for excellence in the social web

    Contrary to what might be expected, Google + has not been at the heart of the announcements made by Google. I see this as a consequence of the diversity of activities of Google: search engine, new social network, holder of an operating system for smartphones, etc. While the launch discount coupons associated with checking in this social network have been raised by Marissa Mayer, VP Product Management Google making a great part of the new trend SOLOMO actor.

    Google seems no less as a leading social web Google has indeed been working on a new module. The "Social Analytics". To provide the user with an analysis of these interactions on or off a site This module aims. (On or off site). This is to go beyond the logic of social reporting presented by Google in June, when Google+ was only concerned. The "Social Analytics" Google now incorporates data related to the activities of users on Facebook (Like), Twitter (retweets), LinkedIn (shares) and obviously one of Google+, it is possible to recover. The goal? To measure consumer engagement and this in on or off site, you must know how to identify what are the social sites that appear as referents, and obviously these data are represented in a graphical appearance.

    Google has also developed a test program for its Social Data Hub platform, with notable absentees: Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn. We can name a few partners: Google +, Digg, Delicious, Blogger ... The operation of the platform is simple, it is to make a link between Google Analytics and social networks to recover and allow proper treatment of data. The ultimate goal is of course to be able to finally get a relevant ROI. The platform allows you to draw any kind of interactions, be it like, votes, comments, bookmarks, if the social network and platform at the base interconnected.

    These two tools, "Social Analytics" and the "Social Data Hub" are expected in 2012. Trends in competition between statistical tools related to the social web. While Google is clearly a size share in this market, Facebook, he has released an updated version of its tool. The two giants tailgating closely.

    4 - The Mobile Web by storm?

    Is it at the time of the end of the web as the crowd George Colony, CEO of Forrester? Today 41% of IT managers are currently transitioning from traditional to mobile internet web According to George Colony. "Like Predecessors icts software, the web Will Eventually be mittal and we think App Internet is the best management for the next step. It's faster, Simpler and offers a better internet experience. "Giving free rein to the mobile. Applications, simpler and faster, come gradually encroaching on the territory of Google.

    The user journey today favors benefit application to search engines. Applications are able to respond specifically to the segmentation of increasingly strong consumer needs. It is therefore important to "think mobile" in the implementation of a marketing strategy services must be compatible with the mobile interface. This trend gives pride to Apple with over 100 million downloaded applications since January 2011, but Apple is not immune to future problems related to the creation of a strong barrier to entry of Apple Store.

    In terms of application, I remember the example of Instagram is the application that the most talked about her at LeWeb, if one refers to the number of tweets that the intervention of the CEO, Kevin Systrom, generated. Small structure, it has only ten employees. However, it has to his credit 14 million users and a 60 frames per second shared. Created there a little over a year, in October 2010, was elected Instagram App of the Year by Apple. The application on Android is currently in development, and the official website. The aim is to increase the internal user base rather than engage in advertising. However, many advertisers are already interested in the application, mostly luxury brands like Gucci or Burberry, or Air France as part of contests.


    )

    5 - The maturity of Facebook despite skepticism from some observers opportunistic

    Skepticism emerged from participation in LeWeb11 giant Facebook. Deficit ads? So, we read some timely notes skeptics who forget the keys to the communication policy of the actor. Giants like Apple or Facebook keep their different ads for their own heights. . Indeed, the Facebook Summit was held Sept. 22 at the F8 conference in San Francisco Mark Zuckerberg currently mentions many changes: the Timeline is the new Facebook profile, the new subscribe button, the many partners (Spotify, Hulu, Netflix, Dailymotion), the ticker and the mention of custom open graph.

    Johanna Shields, Facebook representative came to present at LeWeb 11 the launch of a new "subscribe" button. Its operation is simple: it is a new plugin to websites, which allows all Facebook users to subscribe to publications on the site. They receive content updates in their newsfeed and in real time. This plugin comes directly compete with the "Follow" Twitter plugin. This system of "subscribe" is for content publishers an alternative option to the creation and animation of a Facebook page. Was also mentioned the great success of social news such as that of The Guardian with 4 million installations. Other changes were not discussed, where ambient disappointment.

    For Jeremiah Owyang, companies engage in all social media, in creating Facebook pages and Twitter accounts. However, internally, they do not seem prepared to be able to manage them properly. Why? This is about goals, build a sustainable internal organization on which to rely. According to him, "it's time to return to basics and focus on building a scalable infrastructure-before jumping into Adopting social tools. "Companies should therefore be set as a primary objective to build stable and capable infrastructure to drive economies of scale before running in the big race to social media. A point of view that I find most relevant and that we carry with Idaos clients.

    LeWeb 2011 Joanna Shields, VP & Managing Director EMEA, Facebook and Loic Le Meur

    )

    Julien Codorniou, Director of European Gaming Partnerships, talks about the digital face of the crisis, growth and creativity of Facebook, including on mobile.

    )

    6 - Social, Mobile, Local: finally the golden opportunity for the media

    It seems that the media has now accepted this profound mutation caused both by technology and uses. For years, they are attached to their older models - information / consumer reader transmitter. Now the consumer is no longer a passive consumer, it became consum'actor. The web was marginally considered. It is true that destroy value for the media involve SOLOMO pillars - social, local, mobile - is a vast field of opportunities,. Remains to be seen who will succeed to enter. Some ideas:

    Transmedia, which allows the audience to find content on different media, addresses this issue of exchange. Consumers today want to share, discuss about the programs, content it is obliged to consult. The idea is to anticipate the needs of consumers. Adaptation to the hearing is essential today. The time diversification, as shown in the various partnerships created to increase the number of content to consumers. At Orange for example, partnerships with sites such as Dailymotion, Deezer music as were signed.

    Mobile seems to have been built by the different media. The objective of the consultation of the media on this support is primarily related to sharing functions and catch: you just read content that has not taken the time to consult on other media (paper - TV) and has access to local services.

    The "local" part is found in the current opportunities for greater targeting based on a principle of geolocation. Local advertising in the yellow pages and complimentary newspapers today is profoundly transformed by the arrival of Foursquare. How to deal with these promotions that we receive on his mobile to approach a store? It will be possible to offer the audience content tailored to its geographical position but also its taste and center of interest.

    So much for small overview undoubtedly incomplete. A big thank you to Loic and Geraldine who every year for 8 years we offer information and network quality. LeWeb has undoubtedly taken a turn since their installation in San Francisco. They move Silicon Valley to Paris.

    Other sources:

    Keywords: , , ,

    3 comments for "LeWeb2011: 6 Key Trends for the Internet 2012"

    1. Patrice says:

      Thank you for this summary! Clarification on the button "suscribe". It does not exactly subscribe to updates of a site. It actually allows for a third party website to subscribe to public users statutes. Example in this post on our site http://www.sociabliz.com/strategie-et-conseil/al-origine-de-sociabliz.html that allows the visitor to follow the news of the founders of Sociabliz. To follow a brand buttons "like" and Facebook Pages are the most relevant tool.

    2. Franck Perrier said:

      Patrice thank you for pointing this out quite right.

    3. Marc Reese said:

      Thank you for the article!

      A concept that is well anchored in the concept of SoLoMo is probably Consomap ( http://www.consomap.com ). This site is actually a social network that allows users to stay connected to their favorite stores and receive tips in their instant and location-aware way! A mobile app is under development elsewhere he seems!

    Leave a comment

09 77 21 53 21

LeWeb2011 : 6 tendances clés pour l’internet de 2012

Posté le 13 décembre 2011 par Franck Perrier

    Il nous a fallu une semaine pour  faire la synthèse de notre présence sur place à  LeWeb 2011, plus gros salon européen dans l’internet, et lire 1% de ce qui a été écrit. Nous en avons tiré  6 grandes tendances qui préfigurent l’internet de 2012.

     

    • 1 – La convergence du Social, du Local et du Mobile : le SOLOMO
    • 2 –Ouverture et « talent nurturing » au cœur de la culture d’entreprise dans le web
    • 3 – Google : du search à l’excellence dans le web social
    • 4 – Le mobile à l’assaut du web
    • 5 – La maturité de Facebook malgré un scepticisme opportuniste de certains observateurs
    • 6 – Social, Mobile, Local :  enfin la golden opportunité pour les médias

    A découvir plus en détail avec quelques liens. Bonne lecture et faites nous part de vos commentaires et suggestions.

     

    1 – La convergence du Social, du Local et du Mobile : le SOLOMO

    Cette tendance du SOLOMO a été déjà largement commentée, y compris en amont de l’événement.

    L’originalité de SOLOMO est la convergence de ces trois tendances, acronyme du Social, Local et Mobile, l’avenir du web. Nous pouvons d’ores et déjà nous demander si le SOLOMO est une simple tendance ou voué à devenir un véritable tournant dans le Web.

    L’exemple parfait, Foursquare : un réseau social, basé sur la géolocalisation et sur un système de deals. Les sites e-commerces comme Groupon rentrent également dans cette tendance et les deux grands géants concurrents Facebook et Google ne sont pas non plus en reste : Facebook avec « Places » et son application aujourd’hui révolue « Deals » et Google avec les coupons proposés sur Google+ et l’amélioration du service Google Maps. La prochaine étape est sans doute, du point de vue des annonceurs de savoir jauger et de proposer aux adeptes du mobile un bon équilibre entre partage de bonnes adresses, bons plans et coupons. Nielsen propose une explication de ce nouveau concept en trois schémas, à découvrir ci-dessous. Le tracking et le ciblage comportemental des consommateurs découlent de cette tendance et provoqueront de nombreux débats éthiques.

    Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez vous reporter aux billets ci-dessous.

     

    2 –Ouverture et « talent nurturing » au cœur de la culture d’entreprise dans le web

    La culture d’entreprise est une des clés de la réussite des entreprises, qu’elles soient de la vieille ou de la nouvelle économie. Qu’a-t-on remarqué des interventions des acteurs du web comme Google, Facebook ou d’autres et des startups qui ont concouru ?  Elles partagent deux valeurs : l’ouverture et l’accompagnement des talents, en anglais « talent nurturing ». Comment cela se manifeste-t-il ?

    L’ouverture, c’est par exemple la mise a disposition des API ou les partenariats entre des géants comme Facebook et Spotify qui font évoluer les modèles. Durant l’Ignite du deuxième jour,  de nombreux intervenants se sont succédés. Je retiens l’intervention de Sara Rosse de la société Automattic qui édite WordPress: « The future way of working : The distributed company ». Partage d’expérience intéressant et formateur que celui de Sara, salariée dans une société sans bureau présent dans 74 villes et 21 pays.  L’accent est mis sur la communication interne internationale et la confiance en chacun pour accomplir ses missions.

    « Nurturing Talent » sert l’objectif d’aller chercher et de garder les meilleurs compétences au service de la croissance de son entreprise.  La concurrence est rude dans le recrutement des collaborateurs, dans la Sillicon Valley mais aussi à Paris : avez vous déjà cherché à embaucher des développeurs? Pour ce qui nous concerne, Idaos est une petite structure mais en interne nous respectons la règle suivante : « employees before clients ». Le but n’est pas bien sûr de délaisser nos clients, au contraire, mais nous partons du principe suivant : ils seront naturellement bien traités si nos collaborateurs sont bien entourés, accompagnés, impliqués, motivés. Bien évidemment, il ne s’agit que de notre point de vue.

     

    3 – Google : du search à l’excellence dans le web social

    Contrairement à ce qui aurait pu être attendu, Google + n’a pas été au cœur des annonces faites par Google. J’y vois là une conséquence de la diversité des activités de Google : moteur de recherche, nouvellement réseau social, détenteur d’un système d’exploitation pour smartphones, etc  Certes, le lancement des coupons de réduction associés aux checking au sein de ce réseau social ont été évoqués par Marissa Mayer, VP Product Management faisant de Google un acteur très bien inscrit dans la nouvelle tendance SOLOMO.

    Google n’en apparaît pas moins comme un des leaders du web social. Google a en effet travaillé sur un nouveau module : le « Social Analytics ». Ce module a pour objectif de fournir à l’utilisateur une analyse des interactions présentes sur ou en dehors d’un site. (on ou off site). Il s’agit ici d’aller plus loin que la logique de reporting social présentée par Google au mois de juin, date à laquelle seul Google+ était concerné. Le « Social Analytics » de Google intègre désormais des données liées aux activités des internautes sur Facebook (Like), sur Twitter (retweets), sur LinkedIn (partages) et bien évidemment des +1 de Google+, qu’il est possible de récupérer. L’objectif ? Pouvoir mesurer l’engagement des consommateurs et cela en on ou off site, il faut savoir identifier quels sont les sites sociaux qui apparaissent comme référents, et bien évidemment ces données sont représentées sous un aspect graphique.

    Google a aussi mis en place un programme de test pour sa plateforme Social Data Hub, avec pour grands absents : Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn. On peut citer quelques uns des partenaires : Google +, Digg, Delicious, Blogger … Le fonctionnement de la plateforme est simple, il s’agit de faire un lien entre Google Analytics et des réseaux sociaux afin de récupérer et de permettre un bon traitement des données. L’objectif final est bien évidemment de pouvoir obtenir un ROI enfin pertinent. La plateforme permet de tracer tout type d’interactions, que ce soit des like, des votes, des commentaires, des bookmarks, si le réseau social et la plateforme sont à la base interconnectées.

    Ces deux outils, « Social Analytics » ainsi que le « Social Data Hub » sont attendus pour 2012. La tendance est à la concurrence entre les outils statistiques liés au web social. Alors que Google se taille clairement une part dans ce marché, Facebook, lui, vient de sortir une version mise à jour de son outil. Les deux géants se talonnent de près.

     

     

    4 – Le Mobile a l’assaut du web ?

    Est-on à l’heure de la fin du web comme le pressent George Colony, CEO de Forrester ? Aujourd’hui 41% des managers IT sont actuellement en train de passer du web traditionnel à l’internet mobile. Selon George Colony :  « Like its software predecessors, the web will eventually be replaced and we think App Internet is the best direction for the next step. It’s faster, simpler and offers a better internet experience. », ce qui donne le champ libre au mobile. Les applications, plus simples et plus rapides, viendraient peu à peu empiéter sur le territoire de Google.

    Le parcours utilisateur aujourd’hui privilégie d’avantage l’application aux moteurs de recherche. Les applications sont capables de répondre spécifiquement à une segmentation de plus en plus forte des besoins des consommateurs. Il est donc important de « penser mobile » dans la mise en place d’une stratégie marketing : les services doivent être compatibles avec l’interface mobile. Cette tendance donne la part belle à Apple avec plus de 100 millions d’applications téléchargées depuis janvier 2011, mais Apple n’est pas à l’abri de futurs problèmes en lien avec la création d’une forte barrière à l’entrée de l’Apple Store.

    En terme d’application, je retiens l’exemple d’Instagram qui est l’application qui a le plus fait parler d’elle lors de LeWeb, si l’on se reporte aux nombres de tweets que l’intervention de son CEO, Kevin Systrom, a généré. Petite structure, elle ne compte qu’une dizaine d’employés. Or, elle a à son actif 14 millions d’utilisateurs et un ratio de 60 images partagées par seconde. Créée il y a un peu plus d’un an, en octobre 2010, Instagram a été élue Application de l’année par Apple. L’application sous Android est actuellement en développement, ainsi que le site web officiel. L’objectif en interne est d’accroître la base utilisateur plutôt que de s’engager dans de la publicité. Cependant de nombreux annonceurs s’intéressent déjà à l’application, principalement les marques de luxe comme Gucci ou Burberry, ou Air France dans le cadre de jeux concours.


    )

     

    5 – La maturité de Facebook malgré un scepticisme opportuniste de certains observateurs

     

    Un certain scepticisme s’est dégagé de la participation du géant Facebook à LeWeb11. Déficit d’annonces ? Du coup, on a lu quelques billets opportuns de sceptiques qui oublient les clés de la politique de communication de cet acteur. Les géants comme Apple ou Facebook gardent leurs différentes annonces pour leurs propres sommets. En effet, le sommet Facebook s’est tenu le 22 Septembre lors de la conférence F8 à San Francisco. Mark Zuckerberg y a fait mention de beaucoup d’évolutions : la Timeline, soit le nouveau profil Facebook, le nouveau bouton subscribe, les nombreux partenaires (Spotify, Hulu, Netflix, Dailymotion), le ticker et la mention du custom open graph.

    Johanna Shields, représentante de Facebook Europe est venue présenter  à LeWeb 11 le lancement d’un nouveau bouton « subscribe ». Son fonctionnement est simple : il s’agit d’un tout nouveau plugin à destination des sites internet, qui permet à tous les utilisateurs de Facebook de s’abonner aux publications présentes sur le site. Ils recevront donc des mises à jour de contenu dans leur fil d’actualité et cela en temps réel. Ce plugin vient directement concurrencer le plugin « Suivre » de Twitter. Ce système de « subscribe » constitue pour les éditeurs de contenu une option alternative à la création et à l’animation d’une page Facebook. A été mentionné également le grand succès des social news comme par exemple celle de The Gardian avec 4 millions d’installations. Les autres évolutions n’ont pas été évoquées, d’où la déception ambiante.

    Pour Jeremiah Owyang, les sociétés se lancent toutes dans les médias sociaux, dans la création de pages Facebook et de comptes Twitter. Cependant, en interne, elles ne semblent pas préparées pour pouvoir correctement les manager. Pourquoi ? Il est ici question d’objectifs, de construire une organisation pérenne en interne sur laquelle on puisse s’appuyer. Selon lui, « it’s time to return to basics and focus on building a scalable infrastructure –before jumping into adopting social tools. », les sociétés devraient donc se fixer comme premier objectif de construire des infrastructures stables et capables de conduire à des économies d’échelle avant de se ruer dans la grande course aux médias sociaux. Un point de vue que je trouve plus que pertinent et que nous portons auprès des clients Idaos.

     

    LeWeb 2011 Joanna Shields, VP & Managing Director EMEA, Facebook and Loic Le Meur

    )

     

    Julien Codorniou, Directeur des Partenariats European Gaming, parle du numérique face à la crise, de la croissance et de la créativité de Facebook, notamment sur le mobile.

    )

     

     

    6 – Social, Mobile, Local : enfin la golden opportunité pour les médias

    Il semble que les médias aient maintenant accepté cette mutation profonde engendrée à la fois par la technologie et les usages. Pendant des années, ils se sont attachés à leurs anciens modèles – émetteur d’information / lecteur consommateur. Or le consommateur n’est plus un consommateur passif, il est devenu consomm’acteur. Le web était marginalement pris en compte. Il est vrai qu’il est destructeur de valeur. Pour les médias, associer les piliers du SOLOMO – le social, le local, le mobile -  constitue un vaste champ d’opportunités ; reste à savoir qui va réussir à les saisir. Quelques pistes :

    Le transmedia, qui permet à l’audience de retrouver un contenu sur différents supports, répond à cette problématique d’échange. Le consommateur souhaite aujourd’hui partager, discuter autour des programmes, des contenus qu’il est amené à consulter. L’idée est d’aller au devant des besoins des consommateurs. Une adaptation à l’audience est aujourd’hui indispensable. L’heure est à la diversification, comme le montre les divers partenariats créés pour intensifier le nombre de contenu à destination des consommateurs. Chez Orange par exemple, des partenariats avec des sites de vidéos comme Dailymotion, de musique comme Deezer ont été signés.

    Le mobile semble avoir été bien intégré par ces différents médias. L’objectif de la consultation de ces médias sur ce support est avant tout lié à des fonctions de partage et de rattrapage : on vient y lire un contenu qu’on a pas pris le temps de consulter sur un autre support (papier – télévisé) et on vient accéder à des services de proximité.

    La partie « locale » se retrouve dans les opportunités actuelles d’un plus grand ciblage fondé sur un principe de géolocalisation. La publicité locale dans les pages jaunes et les journaux gratuits est aujourd’hui profondément transformée par l’arrivée de Foursquare. Que faire face à ces promotions que l’on reçoit sur son mobile à l’approche d’un magasin ? Il sera possible de proposer à l’audience un contenu adapté à sa position géographique mais également à ses goûts et centre d’intérêts.

     

    Voilà pour ce petit tour d’horizon sans aucun doute incomplet. Un grand merci à Loic et Géraldine qui chaque année depuis 8 ans nous offrent information et qualité de réseau. LeWeb a sans aucun doute pris un tournant depuis leur installation à San Francisco. Ils déplacent la Sillicon Valley à Paris.

     

    Autres sources :

    Mots-clés : , , ,

    3 commentaires pour “LeWeb2011 : 6 tendances clés pour l’internet de 2012”

    1. Patrice dit :

      Merci pour cette synthèse ! Petite précision sur le bouton « suscribe ». Il ne permet pas exactement de s’abonner aux mises à jour d’un site. Il permet en fait depuis un site tiers de s’abonner aux statuts publics d’utilisateurs. Exemple dans ce post sur notre site http://www.sociabliz.com/strategie-et-conseil/a-l-origine-de-sociabliz.html qui permet au visiteur de suivre l’actualité des fondateurs de Sociabliz. Pour suivre une marque, les boutons « j’aime » et Pages Facebook restent l’outil le plus pertinent.

    2. Franck Perrier dit :

      Merci Patrice pour cette précision tout à fait juste.

    3. Marc Reese dit :

      Merci pour l’article !

      Un concept qui s’ancre bien dans ce concept de solomo est sans doute Consomap (http://www.consomap.com). Ce site est en fait un réseau social permettant aux internautes de rester connecté a leurs magasins favoris et de recevoir leurs bons plans en instantané et de manière géolocalisé! Une appli mobile est en cours de développement d’ailleurs me semble-t-il !

    Laisser un commentaire